A young woman in my daughter’s office is having a little boy.  When I saw this adorable boat fabric (by Fabric Finders) in The Sewing Room, I had to buy it.  What a great fabric for a little boy.  I picked up matching piping and buttons for a cute beachy bubble.

IMG_1415Taylor

The pattern is Taylor by Children’s Corner.  For a girl, you can add lace or eyelet edging to the legs.  I bought the piping already made and had a little trouble getting close to the cording when I was attaching the front and backs to the lining. I was using my zipper foot but found it was better to use the monogramming foot that came with my machine.

And what would be a perfect addition to the outfit?  A sun hat!  Recently I started making bonnets to go with bubbles for girls but didn’t have any ideas for boys.  This bucket hat is simple to do and can be for girls or boys.  It isn’t just for babies either.  The pattern has sizes from 6 months to 8 years.

This adorable hat pattern is free from Oliver + S.   The only difficult part was matching the two crown pieces.  I did the stitching on the brim 1/4 inches apart and would make that bigger next time, maybe 1/2 inches apart.  Also, if you were using a solid fabric, the stitching could be done in a contrasting color for fun.

Boat Outfit

This is a perfect outfit for any tiny beachgoer!  All you need to add is sand, bucket and shovel.

 

Leave a Reply

