My husband asked me to make something for a friend of his that has a new little girl.  He wanted a smocked dress in a small size.  I decided on the classic bishop dress in a size 12 month.  I took a trip to the Smocking Bird for fabric in a nice floral print.  I used Chery William’s Baby Bishops Pattern and Ellen McCarn’s Olivia Grace smocking plate.

Geometric smocking design for bishop.

I really liked using this plate because it also has designs for smocked sleeves.  Smocking the sleeves takes a little bit of extra time in the beginning but makes the construction phase go faster.  This plate is also great for anyone new to smocking since it is only 5 to 6 rows.

IMG_1358

The finished dress looks like summer to me and I hope the little girl enjoys it.

 

One thought on “Basic Bishop

Leave a Reply

