I am always happy when my daughters ask me to make something for a baby shower.  My daughter, Wynn, has a co-worker that had a little boy earlier this month.  While cleaning my sewing room, I ran across some soft, blue micro checked gingham flannel.  How perfect for a sleeper!

I pulled out my Dream Baby pattern by Wendy Schoen and got to work.  The mom is from Portugal and the dad is from Spain.  Since this may be my first outfit to travel internationally, deciding what to embroider was more difficult than usual.  My daughter and I finally settled on this precious dog from the book Mastering Shadow Work Embroidery with Wendy Schoen.

 

Since I chose white satin batiste for the top, I used light gray floche instead of white.  I also changed the bow from red to blue to match the blue sleeper pants.

 

Also, our dear friends in Philadelphia welcomed a new granddaughter this month.  Being in colder climate, another sleeper with flannel pants would be perfect.  Back to my favorite book mentioned above, I decided on this sleeping kitten design.

 

As you might have noticed, the top only has three buttons.  The top and pants are meant to be worn over a onsie which provides extra warmth.

img_1041

The pattern is so versatile and as you can see, can be for a boy or girl and you can put any design you choose on it or no design at all.  Below are the finished outfits.

Have you tried this pattern?  If so, I would love to see your design!

 

2 thoughts on “Dream Baby Gifts

Leave a Reply

