One of the fabrics used for my first sew-together bag really intrigued me.  I wondered how it would look like pleated for a bishop and what thread color would be best.  Cottage Needleworks had closed so I searched the internet and finally found the fabric.

img_1457

Using Chery Williams Basic Bishop pattern, I cut out and pleated the fabric.  However, I still had a blank for the thread color.  Finally I went to The Smocking Bird for some suggestions.  They suggested a color I never would have chosen but it looked great.  The fabric is an old fashioned type print so the thread color needed to be a muted but strong color.  DMC thread color 3712 was a perfect choice.

Using a strong color, I didn’t want to use an overpowering smocking design.  Using the Lacey plate by Ellen McCarn, I kept it simple and allowed the fabric to show through the smocking design.

img_1461 img_0773

One of the best things about an angel sleeve dress, when summer is over and the weather turns cool, you can wear it with a turtleneck and tights.  It is a year round dress!

3 thoughts on “Angel Sleeve Bishop

  1. I’ve just discovered your blog and love it. It is giving me ideas for the grandmother’s hope chest I need to start. With five children, surely I will eventually have grandchildren. I like the little boy outfits as well. My sister is due next month with her third boy. It is so nice to see traditional children’s clothing. I live in Montgomery, but root for the team that wears orange and blue.😊

    1. Thank you so much for your sweet comments! There are several fabrics that are Auburn themed. I am an Alabama fan but both of my daughters went to Auburn so when I have grandchildren, I am sure they will be wearing orange and blue!

Leave a Reply

