In April, I took a Jelly Roll Race Quilt class at Cottage Needleworks.  It was amazing that you could make a quilt topper in a couple of hours and I was fascinated.  Then I received the summer issue of Classic Sewing and saw the new Wonderland design by Riley Blake Designs on the Swatchbook page.

Knowing I had a baby shower coming up and that a baby quilt would be so cute, I searched the internet to find a Wonderland Jelly Roll.  Finally found it on the Southern Fabric website.  The fabric for the back came from Hawthorne Threads.

IMG_1181

Making the top took about two hours to finish but finishing it was quite a different story.  Not knowing anything, and I mean anything about putting together a quilt, I relied on my friend Melissa to help guide me.  There are also several great tutorials from the Missouri Star Quilt Company.

Not having a big cutting/craft table, I taped the back of the quilt to my floor.  Then layered the batting and the top.  I secured all layers with coil free safety pins and started stitching.  It took all afternoon to do the quilting and to apply the binding.  I finished the binding by hand and was thrilled with the result.

IMG_1180

It is not perfect but I think the expectant mother will be happy with it.

The Wonderland by Melissa Mortenson group comes in three palettes, blue, pink and gold, all perfect for a little one’s first quilt.

 

Leave a Reply

