April was a busy month for my family which meant not much sewing was done.  I did learn how to make a sew-together-bag and a jelly roll race quilt top.  The latter I will make into a baby quilt for a new mom.

Several months ago, I popped into the Smocking Bird and saw the cutest dress and just had to make it.  The pattern is Frannie by Children’s Corner.

WIN_20160508_16_53_34_Pro

I loved the seersucker fabric and teal gingham combination!  The pattern and fabric are so perfect for summer.  I bought the pink, teal and white flamingo fabric from Farmhouse Fabrics along with the pattern.  I bought the teal gingham from The Smocking Bird.

WIN_20160508_16_53_45_Pro

It is lined with the gingham and is very easy to make.  I always dread gathering a ruffle however this one was not bad at all.

WIN_20160508_16_55_09_Pro

The sleeves are adjustable to fit the child.  This will also possibly extend the life of the dress for many two summers instead of just one.

If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.

Happy Sewing!

2 thoughts on “Teal Flamingos

  1. Love your little flamingo dress. I enjoy your posts and often go back and reread and look at your photos. I want to make a christening gown suitable for a boy or girl. Do you have suggestions on where to start or have you made one? Thanks.

    1. Glenda, I have only made one christening gown and it was for a baby girl. It was pretty and not too overdone but it was smocked across the bodice. I saw one in a magazine recently that was a bubble with a button on skirt part for the actual christening. I will be glad to try to find it if you are interested. Christening gowns differ depending on where you live. I am in Birmingham, Alabama, where the gowns range from ornate to fairly simple but most are heirlooms and are used for both girls and boys.

Leave a Reply

