Bishop dresses are a classic look for a baby or toddler and they are fairly easy to make.  My daughters wore them all the time.  There are many fabric options for bishops as well as smocking design options.

For this bishop dress, I went with pink satin batiste with a simple geometric design in the same color as the dress.  With the tone on tone design, the embroidery is more the focal point of the dress.  If the smocking had been done using a different color thread, it would have distracted from the embroidery and been too busy.

The pattern is from Chery Williams Baby Bishops and the smocking plate is Olivia Grace by Ellen McCarn, with the embroidery added.  With the roses in the same color scheme as the basic geometric and dress, I decided to add some periwinkle forget-me-knots for a contrast.

I bought the fabric and lace at Farmhouse Fabrics in Beech Island, SC, at a Region 3 SAGA Meet Up.  We had a wonderful time meeting each other and shopping.   The selection is wonderful and I highly recommend a field trip to Farmhouse Fabrics.  The link to their website is here.  There was also a wonderful article about Farmhouse Fabrics in the first issue of Classic Sewing Magazine.

Here is the finished dress.  Let me know what you think.

IMG_0565

IMG_0566

IMG_0567

IMG_0563

You can pick up a copy of Classic Sewing at Barnes and Noble or subscribe on their website.

 

4 thoughts on “Pink Bishop II

  1. Oh my goodness. I love everything you make. I wanted to ask you where you got the embroidery design for the cow jumping over the moon. I wanted to try it on a bubble. Thanks for sharing your talent with us

    1. Thank you so much! The cow jumping over the moon comes from Michie Mooney’s book Heirloom Embroidery. There is also a star design on that same page. I reduced and enlarged the star for the star grouping. There are several designs in the book along with instructions for different stitches.

Leave a Reply

