We recently took a family vacation to the Dominican Republic.  While planning for the trip, I pulled out any left over fabric to find something to take with me.  Luckily, I had enough of this blue fabric to pleat a bishop dress in a size 24 months.   Having to get to the airport three hours early for international travel leaves a lot of down time at the gate waiting to board so I always have something to smock in my carry on.  To avoid any trouble with security, I cut my floss into strips and pack  my scissors in my checked bag.  Geometric smocking travels better than shadow work since you don’t have to concentrate on it as much.  

My husband always takes his e-reader; I always take my smocking.  Sitting on a lounge chair, needle in hand and beautiful Carribean blue water.  Nothing could be more therapeutic for me.





6 thoughts on “Smocking in Paradise

  1. Absolutely gorgeous! I can’t wait to try smocking but I’ve never done it before, so I don’t really know how to get started. Any suggestions? I have been sewing for many years (made my daughter’s wedding dress) but have always wanted to try smocking. I just became a grandmother so it’s the perfect time to try, right?! 🙂

    1. Absolutely the perfect time to try! I taught myself before taking lessons. Is there a Smocking or heirloom sewing store nearby? If not, I used the book “Ellen McCarn on English Smocking”. If you need a piece of pleated fabric to practice on let me know and I will send you one.

  2. I just looked up the book on amazon and found it! Do you pleat your own fabric or do you buy it already pleated? I remember watching my mother pleat fabric with the iron before smocking. I just thought that there’s probably videos on youtube that I could watch maybe… You are too kind to offer the fabric! I think I’d like to try pleating first. It can’t be too difficult, right? haha

    1. I own a pleater which makes it easier. If there is a store near you, they should have some inserts pleated up for you to use. I have plenty of leftover broadcloth that I can pleat for you which is no trouble.

Leave a Reply

