The embroidery is finished and the next step is putting in the lace insertion. There was a problem with this. When I drew the pattern on the fabric, I marked lines where the lace would be placed and then marked the embroidery pattern. Unfortunately when I added the insertion, I sewed right over some of the embroidery. I had to take out the embroidery and then re-do it after the insertion was put in. This was more difficult because the pattern had been cut out by that time. I recommend that after drawing the pattern on the fabric, add the insertion (if possible) before working the embroidery. That way you know where everything should be placed.

20140411-103958.jpg

The pattern suggested gathered lace for the sleeves, but I choose to do flat lace with entredeux. Also, I changed the neckband from the original design and used flat lace.

20140411-104417.jpg

Gathering lace for the bottom of a dress has always challenged me. This time was no different. I prefer flat lace, but due to the scalloped hem of this dress design, it needed to be gathered. I gave it my best shot and that is about all I can say about it. Overall, it turned out to be a really sweet dress and the recipient was very pleased with the it.

20140411-104812.jpg

Leave a Reply

